The Resource Blue Skies Over Berlin, John Steinberg

Blue Skies Over Berlin, John Steinberg

Label
Blue Skies Over Berlin
Title
Blue Skies Over Berlin
Statement of responsibility
John Steinberg
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
The powerful story of a German woman trying to escape her country's shameful past.
Biographical or historical data
John Steinberg was born in 1952 and spent many years in business before becoming a writer in 2008. Since then, he has co-written and produced comedies for the stage and has created a series of books for children. Blue Skies Over Berlin is his second novel. He is married with three children and lives in north London.
Cataloging source
UK-WkNB
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Steinberg, John
Dewey number
AF
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
Literary form
novels
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • History
  • The Holocaust
  • Second World War
Summary expansion
A young German woman moves to London from war-ravaged Berlin in 1956 to start a new life. She takes a new name - Charlotte Brown - and lands the job of her dreams at the National Gallery. But London is a city still rising from the ruins of the war, and Charlotte encounters ruthless individuals who are set on rising with it. Out of her depth in a world of aristocratic rogues, conmen, thieves and art dealers with unsavoury wartime connections, her life becomes unstable and complicated. After a series of broken relationships and poor career choices, she loses her job and, more seriously, becomes the subject of a criminal investigation. Lonely and short of money, Charlotte has to make a new life for herself yet again. Blue Skies Over Berlin is a moving and thought-provoking book about guilt and who we really are from an author who is fascinated by the human condition and the challenges life can throw up. It is a must-read for fans of Howard Jacobson, Ian McEwan and William Boyd
Target audience
general
Label
Blue Skies Over Berlin, John Steinberg
Instantiates
Publication
Note
Paperback
Control code
9781909269521
Dimensions
20x13x1 cm.
Extent
224 p.
Isbn
9781909269521
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Other physical details
b&w, ill.
Specific material designation
regular print
Label
Blue Skies Over Berlin, John Steinberg
Publication
Note
Paperback
Control code
9781909269521
Dimensions
20x13x1 cm.
Extent
224 p.
Isbn
9781909269521
Isbn Type
(pbk.)
Other physical details
b&w, ill.
Specific material designation
regular print

Library Locations

    • Church Street LibraryBorrow it
      67 Church Street, London, NW8 8EU, GB
      51.523203 -0.170366
    • Maida Vale LibraryBorrow it
      Sutherland Avenue, London, W9 2QT, GB
      51.5243737 -0.1905401
    • Paddington LibraryBorrow it
      Porchester Road, London, W2 5DU, GB
      51.5174517 -0.1883835
    • Pimlico LibraryBorrow it
      Lupus Street, London, SW1V 3EY, GB
      51.4883377 -0.1373162
    • Queen's Park LibraryBorrow it
      666 Harrow Road, London, W10 4NE, GB
      51.5270234 -0.2109378
    • St John's Wood LibraryBorrow it
      20 Circus Road, London, NW8 6PD, GB
      51.53366949999999 -0.1724533
    • Victoria LibraryBorrow it
      160 Buckingham Palace Road, London, London, GB
      51.4928159 -0.147923
Processing Feedback ...