Coverart for item
The Resource Stubborn archivist, Yara Rodrigues Fowler

Stubborn archivist, Yara Rodrigues Fowler

Label
Stubborn archivist
Title
Stubborn archivist
Statement of responsibility
Yara Rodrigues Fowler
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
A lyrical debut for fans of Sally Rooney and Kamila Shamsie, presenting a sense of the disorientating nature of growing up between cultures, told through family conversations and consideration of the experiences of different generations.
Cataloging source
StDuBDS
http://library.link/vocab/creatorDate
1992-
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Rodrigues Fowler, Yara
Dewey number
823.92
Index
no index present
LC call number
PR6118.O346
Literary form
novels
Summary expansion
'I read Stubborn Archivist in a ravenous gulp. It's stunning: so articulate about what it means to live between two languages and countries, tenderly unravelling the knots of unbelonging' Olivia Laing'My goodness. Yara Rodrigues-Fowler has conjured a work of rare power, startlingly original form, and devastating beauty. This novel is a triumph'Musa Okwonga'Stubborn Archivist is an intimate and wonderfully resourceful exploration of origins. In its quest to uncover what a person is made of it digs deeply into the living body, as well as tracing back through its tangled roots. Visceral and elegant, circumspect and vivid, Yara Rodrigues Fowler has a distinctly unhampered way of telling a story; I liked Stubborn Archivist very very much' Claire-Louise Bennett'Every page oozes with caustic wit, despair and self-awareness, creating a lyrical debut that pushes the novel form like no other in recent years. A talent to watch'Nikesh ShuklaWhen your mother considers another country home, it's hard to know where you belong. When the people you live among can't pronounce your name, it's hard to know exactly who you are. And when your body no longer feels like your own, it's hard to understand your place in the world. This is a novel of growing up between cultures, of finding your space within them and of learning to live in a traumatized body. Our stubborn archivist tells her story through history, through family conversations, through the eyes of her mother, her grandmother and her aunt and slowly she begins to emerge into the world, defining her own sense of identity
Label
Stubborn archivist, Yara Rodrigues Fowler
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BDZ0036244248
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
362 pages
Isbn
9780708899076
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Label
Stubborn archivist, Yara Rodrigues Fowler
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
BDZ0036244248
Dimensions
23 cm
Extent
362 pages
Isbn
9780708899076
Isbn Type
(hbk.)
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia

Library Locations

    • Pimlico LibraryBorrow it
      Lupus Street, London, SW1V 3EY, GB
      51.4883377 -0.1373162
Processing Feedback ...